Virtual reality

The 2022 VR Awards Announce This Year’s Winners

The annual ceremony returned with its first in-person since 2019.

The 6th international VR Awards took place this past weekend in Rotterdam, Netherlands, celebrating the best VR games, films, hardware, companies, and influencers of 2022. This year’s lineup was stacked yet again with some of the biggest names in the industry, from content creators like Cas and Chary VR to hardware companies such as HTC Vive.

This was the first in-person celebration since 2019, and organizer AIXR went big with a red carpet event complete with a drinks reception, luxurious three-course meal, and a surreal acrobatic performance from Andromeda Entertainment CEO John McClellan. Following the performance, 14 awards were handed out to this year’s winners, including Dr Jacquelyn Ford Morie, who this year took home Accenture’s VR Lifetime Achievement award.

Other notable winners include Polyarc Games’ Moss: Book II (VR Game of the Year), Pico’s Pico Neo3 Link (VR Hardware of the Year), Baobab Studios’ Namoo (VR Film of the Year), and Immerse (Innovative VR Company of the Year) just to name a few.

“It has been an absolute pleasure to bring the 6th International VR Awards back in person once again, and for the first time in history we’ve taken the awards to Rotterdam, Netherlands,” said Daniel Colaianni, chief executive of AIXR in an official release.

“Since 2017 and the fruition of the 1st International VR Awards we have seen a lot of changes within the industry, both big and small, and I am pleased to see how far we’ve come with the VR Awards and as an industry as a whole. I want to thank our Academy members who play a fundamental role in helping AIXR make events like these happen all year round.”

The following is a full list of this year’s winners (as provided by AIXR):

  • VR Film of the Year:
    • Baobab Studios – Namoo
  • VR Content Creator of the Year:
    • Habie147
  • VR Hardware of the Year:
    • Pico – Pico Neo3 Link
  • VR Game of the Year:
    • POLYARC GAMES – Moss: Book II
  • VR Experience of the Year:
    • The MetaMovie – The MetaMovie Presents: Alien Rescue
  • VR Marketing Campaign of the Year:
  • Rising VR Company of the Year:
    • Anotherway

  • Innovative VR Company of the Year:
    • Immerse
  • VR Education and Training of the Year:
    • Immerse – The Leading Education Metaverse Platform
  • VR Healthcare of the Year:
    • Osso – Osso VR: Virtual Reality Training for Surgical Teams
  • VR Location-based Entertainment of the Year:
    • Emissive / Orange – Eternal Notre Dame
  • VR Social Impact Award:
    • Upstream / Yazda / Surround Vision – Nobody’s Listening
  • VR Enterprise Solution of the Year:
    • SEAT S.A. (SEAT & CUPRA) – Immersive Design Check (IMDCH)
  • Accenture VR Lifetime Achievement Award:
    • Dr. Jacquelyn Ford Morie, Founder and Chief Scientist of All These Worlds, LLC.

“To recognize the success of VR pioneers, innovators, and creators alike is the Academy’s first and foremost priority, to elevate the incredible work from within the industry and pave the way for breakthroughs for many decades to come,” added Colaianni. “With the industry continuing to grow and evolve, the awards will certainly help to promote and support the continued development of the immersive world.”

You can watch a replay of the live event above. For more information visit here.

Image Credit: AIXR


Related posts

‘Legend Of Zelda: Ocarina Of Time’ Now Fully Playable In VR

Sarah Henriquez

Novelist Jules Verne Gets His Own VR Minigolf Courses

Sarah Henriquez

Aliens VR Game Currently In The Works From Survios

Sarah Henriquez

Leave a Comment